The flaws of (some) teaching methods.

Posted on

As you can see, school is an everyday occurrence to students, young females and males all the same. However, right now I will not write about how corrupt my school is, but rather the teaching methods (some of) the teachers use.

Teaching, as you have all seen (or experience, for some), is a really stressful job, depending on the teaching subject. I’d say that teaching polite young adults are easier than teaching pubescent thirteen years old.

Anyway,

Take my school, for example. There are roughly fifty two teachers, including staffs. I could safely say that all of them has different, colorful personalities of their own.

My Javanese teacher. He was an outgoing, cheerful and funny teacher (he’s pretty old by the way), contrasting to my old math teacher (she’s pretty young),  who were so uptight and strict.

Majority of the students liked the Javanese teacher more, and preferred him over the math teacher.

Students does not like to get chained to work, yelled at, or getting scorned at. That being said, teachers should lighten up a little.

The problem is, most of the teachers doesn’t know (or doesn’t care, take your pick), about children psychology, children’s way of thinking, and children’s feelings. Their minds are far too occupied with other things. Either that, or they just doesn’t bother.

Take my Indonesian Language teacher for example. She behaves like pre-pubescent teenage, although I’m quite sure she’s well over fifty.

This, of course, clashes with the rest of the class.

Teacher, in my opinion, should be a person that students could rely on. Teachers should be a person that students could talk to.

You know how she (Indonesian language teacher) behaves in class?

“Uuh! -insert whatever anime-girl gesture here* Why won’t you all listen!”

—honestly, I cracked up a little. But of course I didn’t laugh because she’d get madder if I do.

You think that’s stupid? Well, think again. There are a lot of things stupider than that. You haven’t seen her seriously mad.

She slams her desk HARD a few times, and shouts, “I’VE ALREADY TOLD YOU HOW TO ANSWER THIS QUESTION, YET YOU ALL NEVER SHUT UP AND LISTEN TO ME!!”

…Not enough?

She DIRECTLY insulted us. She’s not implying, but she said it clearly, clearly to our face. Today, yes, today.

“IDIOTS!” no shit sherlock considering you’re not even teaching us anything

The way I write it here isn’t sounds like it’s a big deal, but truly it is. I wish I could get it on cam but whatever. (Plus she threw a book [not thick but…] to my friend, she was only one meter away [Her desk is right in front of my friend’s]. So I’d imagine it to hurt. A lot.)

All I wanted to say is that teachers should understand kids better than kids understand them.

At my school kids understands teachers better though.

“Oh it’s that teacher be prepared for an angry blast of yells for nothing.”

I’m not saying that being strict is bad or horrible, but at least try to lighten up. Try to joke, try to connect with the students, rather than teach us on and on, and occasionally yelling at us (for nothing).

It’s not in our nature to like strict and uptight teachers, just my two cents.

About Kazuki

Kazuki | 14 | MCLD '14 | My interests lies in a lot of things, from psychology to politics, pop culture, etc. | A bit childish at times, and I get angry a lot. | Here to speak freely; opinions matters. | Contact me anywhere. Twitter : @ShafiraNisa / @Akabane_Karma Tumblr : saidaikouyakusuu / onemanlive / belovedsurvival

Leave a comment